Harrisonburg Is Gluten Free!!

Hey folks! I’m writing to you from my house sitting gig from beautiful Ottobine, VA. It’s been such a great time to relax, unwind from all the pressures and worries that I had been going through the last 6 months, and just take a moment to breathe.

After moving to Harrisonburg, VA I found that my dining options, although by no means non-existent, were definitely more limited than being in Northern VA. I am definitely excited though, by just how much I still have access to! In Harrisonburg, there is a great Thai restaurant called Taste of Thai that is VERY familiar with the gluten free diet. I have successfully eaten there multiple times with no problems at all. Just make sure, as always, to be VERY firm about being terribly allergic πŸ˜‰

Another great place that I recently tried with my parents is Vito’s Italian Kitchen, formerly L’Italia. I was a little hesitant to try it, but it turns out that Vito’s makes a HUGE gluten free pizza! The only option is to get a 12″, but that is so much bigger than most other places that serve pizza! Their toppings were all incredible, very fresh and not terribly salty. The crust was thin and cracker-like, not the best I’ve tasted but certainly not the worst. The waitress was very confident, asked all the right questions, and I didn’t even feel like I needed to talk to a manager (which I so often do when trying a new restaurant for the first time!). It was a great experience, I will definitely go back!

One of my standby cool places to go when here, Clementine’s, has a lot of great seasonal dishes that they can modify for gluten intolerant diners. I went a few days ago with my friend Jenna and had an Oh My Darlin’ cocktail…amazzzzing. I also managed to get a delicious Shrimp and Grits dish with huge plump shrimp, bacon, and lobster cream sauce!!! The sauce was thickened with cornstarch. I was in heaven. The waitress didn’t mind asking questions in the kitchen for me, although it sounded like the chef wasn’t 100% sure what he was talking about, insisting that corn wasn’t gluten free. Um….yes. It is. There is such a thing as corn gluten, but unless you have a corn allergy, it doesn’t effect gluten-intolerant diners. I understand the confusion though πŸ˜‰

Finally, my life wouldn’t be complete without Sharp Shopper! Sharp Shopper is a FANTASTIC Mennonite-run grocery outlet. The best part about it is that the woman who orders the dry ingredients sold in bulk knows (and loves) my mother, and has started carrying bulk gluten free oats, rice flour, sorghum flour, potato and corn starches, xanthan gum, and tapioca starch. It’s so great! I feel like I can actually afford to feed myself when I buy ingredients here! If you need ANYTHING, ask for Caroline. She is always open to taking requests for new products and will actually let you know when she gets a good deal on something you might like!

Amazingly, Harrisonburg has a lot of great places to eat gluten free! Feel free to post anywhere in town that you know of that has any other great places to eat! πŸ™‚

2 Responses to “Harrisonburg Is Gluten Free!!”

  1. Joan S. Says:

    I am a loyal Sharp Shopper Customer and I agree that it is a great place to shop and save money! I don’t know what I would do without them. I enjoyed their Customer Appreciation Days that they had this Spring and I always enjoy their outlet prices. I’ve been following them on facebook too. They’re on facebook as SharpShopperGroceryOutlet. Thanks for your article, it was a fun read!

  2. hmckean Says:

    Vito’s Pizza or L’Italia is NOT CELIAC FRIENDLY. DO NOT GO HERE if you are a Celiac. They say they offer gluten-free options but they are not educated on it. I ordered a pizza, asked specifically if it could be made gluten free and explained that I had Celiac’s Disease. The waitress assured me that it could be. When the pizza came out it looked great. After I ate half a peice, I tasted something that tasted like meatloaf. I realized that there were sliced meatballs on the pizza. I stopped eating and asked the waitress if the meatballs were made with breadcrumbs. She came back a few minutes later and said, “Yes, but only a little. You should be fine!”. Obviously I stopped eating and had them take the entire pizza away. She offered to remake it, but I realized they had no idea how to properly accommodate Celiacs Disease and ended up not ordering anything more. At the end of the meal, they had the audacity to try and charge me for a portion of my meal. I ended up speaking with the manager who essentially blamed me for not asking enough questions. When I stated that they should not offer a Gluten Free menu and say they can accommodate it unless they are more educated, he retorted that they have never had a problem. He was actually quite rude in the end. It makes me wonder how many people have been glutened and didn’t know it. BEWARE!

Leave a Reply

