Dulce De Leche with Strawberries

Hello all! Sorry for the extended absence. Things are changing fast in my little world right now and I felt like I needed to take a hiatus from blogging to really focus on everything going on.

So, two things:

1) I decided to quit my full time job! I wasn’t happy where I was and I was constantly stressed out. My health was rapidly deteriorating because of the constant stress I was under. That is no way to live your life at the ripe old age of 25, so I decided while on a trip to Atlanta to take the plunge and quit my job. I never would have been able to do this without having my Mary Kay business to rely on, so thank goodness I have really developed a deep love for that part of my life. Gotta love a recession proof job!

2) Since I am now without a salaried job, I decided that I would be foolish not to do something with my life that I’ve always wanted to do. So, starting next Monday, I will be working full time for my friend Justin, owner of BakeShop in Arlington VA. πŸ™‚ No, he doesn’t have gluten free goodies yet, but I told him that if I had to work all day around things I couldn’t eat, this was going to be a short term of employment πŸ˜‰ So he will be rolling out some gluten free treats soon thankfully and I will become blissfully chubby at work, most likely.

Anyway, now you know what’s going on in my world.Β  I’m excited and nervous to begin this new phase of life!

So a while back, I made an epic discovery. I know others have made homemade dulce de leche before, but I never had. Oh sure, my friend Aaron told me about his method of boiling a can of condensed milk….but honestly that scared me. How does it not explode?! So i went searching for a different method because I was seriously craving some yummy creamy gooey dulce de leche! And lo and behold: David Lebovitz had a solution, as he so often does.

For those of you that don’t know, dulce de leche is essentially caramelized condensed milk. It is delicious stirred into ice cream, brownie batter, as a layer of filling on a cake or tart, or directly out of the jar on strawberries (my chosen method usually!).Β  It is one of my favorite flavors and after making it this way, I found myself saying “why don’t I make this more often?!” And honestly, you will too. Try out this low maintenance and naturally gluten free recipe and let me know what you think! I have included David’s instructions word for word because they worked so well, I really didn’t want to mess up the process.

Dulce De Leche! YUM!

Dulce De Leche ala David Lebovitz

Preheat the oven to 425Β° F (220Β° C).

Pour one can (400 gr/14 ounces) of sweetened condensed milk (not evaporated milk) into a glass pie plate or shallow baking dish. Stir in a few flecks of sea salt.

Set the pie plate within a larger pan, such as a roasting pan, and add hot water until it reaches halfway up the side of the pie plate.

Cover the pie plate snugly with aluminum foil and bake for 1 to 1ΒΌ hours. (Check a few times during baking and add more water to the roasting pan as necessary).

Once the Dulce de Leche is nicely browned and caramelized, remove from the oven and let cool. Once cool, whisk until smooth.

Store in the refrigerator until ready to serve. Warm gently in a warm water bath or microwave oven before using.

One Response to “Dulce De Leche with Strawberries”

  1. Bettina Says:

    Hey girl! Meg gave me the link to your blog! Love it! I had to go Gluten free just before Thanksgiving last year…perfect timing! πŸ˜‰ Your reciepes look so yummy, I will have to give some a try. Congrats on taking the big step and quiting your job. Doing what makes us happy is what is important, not expanding someone elses ‘bottom line’ πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

