Homegrown Steak Salad

Part of my balcony garden

I think my gardening obsession began with my mom. As a kid I was used to munching on the product of my mom’s evenings and weekends bent over rows of seedlings in our family garden. There is a famous story in our family about when my mom was feeding me carrots when I was a toddler. Apparently, I fed some back to her and during the exchange, my poor mother chomped down on my little finger. She still gets upset to this day when she recalls the utter betrayal stamped across my face and the tears that pooled up in my big baby blue eyes. Don’t worry Mom! I love you AND I still love carrots. No lasting damage done 🙂

Anyway, since college I have always managed to have a sprig of something growing in a pot on my windowsill.  At George Mason University, I kept a basil plant and a rosemary plant one summer when I was living myself in a dorm room. They sure brightened the place up and really brought my Lean Cuisine spaghetti back to life. My first grown up apartment out of school had a lovely balcony where I grew rosemary, mint, lavender, oregano and thyme in window boxes. Now, in my new apartment, I am growing three different kinds of lettuce and patio tomatoes! I am so excited about having more space and being able to grow more of what I eat. Barbara Kingsolver’s book “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle” became my personal blueprint for eating (as much as possible living in an apartment, anyway) after I read it last fall. I am also very excited about goodLife {eats} and Katie’s new project growcookeat, where you can learn more about growing your own food. I will be following this series of posts with great interest.  Can’t wait for the next installment on container gardening, as I am always looking for more ideas about making the most of tiny growing spaces!

Today was a special day. Today was the first day that I was able to take cuttings from my lettuce and eat what I had grown! No wondering if there was something nasty on the lettuce from processing at an industrial farm. No possible way there were films of pesticide over those tender little leaves, no sir. Hopefully soon, my tomato plant will start producing and I won’t have to pay the outrageous prices people want for tomatoes even in season! To celebrate my fantastic lettuce and truly celebrate it’s flavor, I thought I would make a simple little salad with some leftover steak from Rays the Steaks. Any type of steak would work just fine in this, but mine was a thick New York strip.

Homegrown Steak Salad

4 1/2 inch slices steak
2 handfuls washed lettuce (mine is green, red, and a mesclun mix)
salt
pepper
olive oil
balsamic vinager

Toss lettuce with salt, pepper, a cap full of olive oil and a cap full of vinegar. Place steak on the top. Serve with a piece of crusty GF bread and butter (I like Against the Grain baguettes, toasted!).

2 Responses to “Homegrown Steak Salad”

  1. Maggie Says:

    Congrats on your first harvest of the season! It’s always a good one! I ate some of my garden lettuce today too. Love your blog.

  2. Benjamin Says:

    When I read the title of this post, I was hoping you meant you had raised a cow in your apartment.

    That not being the case, it still sounds like a delicious recipe!

Leave a Reply

