Bake Some Love

Happy Day of Love!

Happy Valentines Day, blogosphere! I hope you are all snuggled up with your love muffin sugar pumpkin today and enjoying whatever you all have planned to express your love for one another.  Or, if you are single, I hope you have something strong to drink and a pile of Jane Austen movies on tap for your evening. I fall in between the two camps today, as my boyfriend is sick and our trip was canceled on account of snow. Oh well! I guess we’ll celebrate officially later this week, but I am really excited because I decided to attempt something that I haven’t tried yet since eating gluten free: Rolled Sugar Cookies!

I was leery of rolled cookies even before going gluten free, so attempting them with my little bags of flour seemed pretty scary. All that fussing around with the rolling pin seemed unnecessary when I could just make drop cookies with no hassle. There is, however, something very satisfying about eating shaped cookies, especially on a holiday! I made these cookies using Gluten Free Girl’s recipe, although I did make a few small changes in terms of how I handle the dough that worked really well for me! Also next time, I think I would leave out the amaranth flour. This was the first time I had tried it and the smell really bothered me. I will try replacing it with almond flour or coconut flour next time! I hope you give them a try, there’s no reason that gluten free kids can’t have holiday cookies too. 🙂 I also want to recommend that you use a Silpin, a silicon rolling pin, for any rolling of gluten free dough that you need to do. They’re great and gluten free dough tends to be extra sticky!

Rolled Sugar Cookies

Adapted from Gluten Free Girl

1/2 cup sorghum flour
1/2 cup tapioca flour
1/2 cup potato starch
1/2 cup sweet rice flour
1/2 cup amaranth flour
1 teaspoon xanthan gum
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
2 eggs, room temperature
2 teaspoon vanilla extract
pinch fresh nutmeg

1) Preheat oven to 350.

2) Cream together butter and sugar till fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla and mix until blended well.

3) Mix flours, salt, baking powder, xanthan gum in a bowl. Add to butter mixture one cup at a time through a sifter, mixing well between each addition.

4) Once all the flour is incorporated, wrap the dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.

5) Once chilled, take dough out of fridge for a few minutes to loosen up.  Divide dough into halves and between rolling each, store in the fridge wrapped in plastic. Put one half of the dough on rice flour sprinkled saran wrap or waxed paper on the counter, and roll out to about 1/8 inch thickness. This dough doesn’t really get too thin, so you should be ok as long as you don’t press too hard.

6) Once you’ve cut your cookies out, bake them on a parchment paper or Silpat lined baking sheet for 10 minutes. Allow cookies to cool completely before icing. Alternate rolling/cutting and storing each half of dough until it is all gone!

Bake up some love for your sweetie pie

Sugar Cookie Icing

Adapted from Craftzine’s post by Kate Goodman

2½ cups powdered sugar
4 Tbsp milk or half-and-half
2 Tbsp butter, softened
½ tsp vanilla extract
Food coloring, optional

Directions

In small mixer bowl, combine the powdered sugar, milk, butter, and extract. Beat at medium speed until smooth, adding additional milk, if necessary, to reach the desired spreading consistency. Color with food coloring, if desired.

2 Responses to “Bake Some Love”

  1. cari Says:

    OMG, *so* pretty!

  2. Mom Says:

    Pretty!!

Leave a Reply

