British Seafood Pot

I am afraid that I am becoming a bit of a shut in. I can’t help it; I honestly don’t know a lot of people my age who have to cook as much as I do. Most young folks seem to view it as a chore. Or more like “Cooking? Oh yes, I love cooking. I’m especially fond of Lean Cuisine.” Ahhhh. I make no secret of the fact that it is an important activity in my life, even were I not gluten free. I like taking ingredients and shaping them into something fine and different and fulfilling. I feel that food expresses feelings that sometimes I can’t express on my own, so it’s hard when people don’t quite understand what all the fuss is about over a handmade gluten free cake or a made-from-scratch stew. If they don’t get it, sometimes it’s like they don’t get me. Don’t ask where that came from. I’m feeling a bit contemplative tonight; perhaps all the Jane Austen I’ve been exposed to today. (By the way, if you like Jane Austen, try out “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies”. It is absolutely fantastic!)

Gotta have that bread for dipping!

Anyhow, I’m still on my Nigella Lawson kick and I thought that I would share a fantastic recipe for a Seafood Pot that is in her Nigella Express cookbook. I have mentioned how much I love Nigella for her simple ingredients, clear instructions, and charming writers voice. I should also mention that I am a complete Anglophile and pretty much love anything “typically” British. This was compounded by a visit to Northern Ireland a few years ago, where I got to visit the Republic for a weekend and stay in Donegal by the ocean. It was truly special and now I can hardly bear to eat seafood in the US. I especially love shellfish, so this was a perfect dinner to try out on a night where I am on my own.

I actually used some shrimp in my version as well, which weren’t in Nigella’s version. I didn’t enjoy them as much as I thought I would, but I think it’s because they had been frozen for a while. If I had used some fresh shrimp, I am sure it would have been delicious! Alter yours as you see fit though, and I know that you will love whatever you make. Share it with someone you love.

Must love seafood

Seafood Pot
Adapted from Nigella Express

1 lb cherrystone or littleneck clams
1 lb cod fillet
1 lb cleaned squid
2 tablespoons butter
drop of vegetable oil
1/2 cup white wine
1/4 medium sherry
1/2 lemon
2 tablespoons chopped chives
Salt
Pepper

1) Soak the clams in a bowl of cold water for 5 minutes while you chop the fish.  Discard the open or cracked clams and drain the rest. Scrub thoroughly under running water with a brush to dislodge any sand or dirt.

2) Cut the fish and squid into 1/2 inch slices/

3) melt butter and oil in a large pot or pan with a lid, then over high heat add the fish and squid, stirring them around until they begin to turn opaque.

4) Add the clams and white wine, then cover. Shake the pot a bit so that they don’t stick. Cook for approximately 3 minutes.

5) Lift the lid, avoiding the steam, and pour in sherry and lemon juice. Cover again and cook for another 3 minutes. Salt and pepper just before serving and sprinkle chopped chives on the top.

6) Serve the seafood in the pot or in individual bowls if you have a large crowd. Serve with crusty bread on the side for dunking, you will have a lovely broth to go with the fish.

Leave a Reply

