Warming Foods

This was seriously the blizzard that would not end. I know there’s been lots of talk in the news (in fact, that’s all I could find on TV for the majority of the week…like we didn’t know) but you don’t understand. I got excited to walk to the car today. And then to Whole Foods. And then to Crate and Barrel. I would have kept going to Barnes and Noble if I wasn’t carrying calamari and cod in my shopping bag. Tomorrow perhaps….

Anyway, I wanted to share a fabulous recipe for Ratatouille that kept Keith and myself warm and happy during this nasty weather. I know that Ratatouille is actually a summer dish, but considering that I was able to find everything at Whole Foods, I thought I would take the opportunity to try something new while I had the time to cook! I do love that about bad weather 🙂

I used the recipe from Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s “The River Cottage Cookbook”, which Keith’s mom Janet was so kind to pass on to me over Christmas. I was grateful too; there is nothing that I love more than British…anything. 🙂 I was excited to finally use this book and get a lovely warming dish on a blizzardy night!

Ratatouille
From The River Cottage Cookbook

Serves 4 as a starter

Olive Oil
4 garlic cloves, finely chopped
8 oz. eggplant, cubed
8 oz. zucchini, sliced 1/2 inch thick
8 oz. sweet cherry or Sungold tomatoes, left whole
8 oz onions, in fairly thick slices
a few basil leaves, torn
salt and freshly ground pepper

1) Put large saute pan or dutch oven over medium heat and cover the bottom with olive oil.  Add chopped garlic and eggplant and saute until eggplant is soft and tender. Add zucchini, tomatoes, and onions and cook till all vegetables are cooked through.  Season and add torn basil leaves.

Oh wait! You thought there was more! Nope. That’s it. It’s insanely easy, delicious and filling, not to mention extremely healthy. Keith and I ate this as a side dish to a roasted chicken and some rice, it was AMAZING. You could easily eat it on it’s own though, with some crusty bread to soak up the juices. Enjoy, my friends, and stay warm out there!

Leave a Reply

