Mixed Berry Cobbler

I am obviously wishing for summer and skipping over pining for spring completely lately. I just did a delicious Ratatouille (summer veggies) and now I have baked a delicious cobbler with berries left over from last summer. AHH! The snow has taken its toll and I am ready to see some green leaves and flowers outside my door.

While I wait, I am cleaning out the freezer of last summers leftover produce. I always take the opportunity to freeze as much as I can to keep me going in times exactly like these, where I need a reminder that summer isn’t forever away. My personal favorites to freeze are blackberries, blueberries, raspberries, cherries, peaches, and beans. This can keep going pretty much until my farmers market has something other than potatoes and cabbage! I highly recommend this strategy.
Anyway, I had a last half gallon bag of mixed blackberries, raspberries, and blueberries that I needed to use and thought I would try a recipe from Nigella Lawson’s “Nigella Express” cookbook. I LOVE NIGELLA! She is so charming and well, so British. I can’t resist her. This cobbler was incredibly easy to convert to gluten free because it takes very little flour to make. I really hope you all try this, it was incredible and, after being made last night, is now gone. 🙂 Try it with vanilla ice cream or the Vanilla Bean Whipped Cream recipe included below.

Breakfast? Because of the fruit? Yeah.

Mixed Berry Cobbler
Adapted from “Nigella Express”

1 cup plus 1 tablespoon butter
3/4 cup gluten free oats
1/2 cup flour (I used this mix, but I think pretty much any all-purpose mix would work here)
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup slivered almonds
1/4 cup sunflower kernels
1 tsp ground cinnamon
4 cups berries
1/4 cup raw sugar
3 tsp cornstarch

1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Melt butter and set to one side for the moment.

2) Combine oats, flour, brown sugar, almonds, sunflower kernels, and cinnamon in a bowl.

3) Tip the blackberries into a wide shallow baking dish, sprinkle over the sugar and cornstarch and tumble to coat.

4) Stir the melted butter into the crisp topping and spoon on top of the blackberry to cover (not completely).

5) Bake for 25 minutes and serve with ice cream or whipped cream.

Vanilla Bean Whipped Cream

Heavy cream
Sugar
Vanilla bean/Vanilla paste

1) Whip cream in a cold mixer bowl with a cold mixer until soft peaks form.

2) Tip in sugar to taste as well as vanilla. Mix into cream and serve cold.

Health food right? Because of the antioxidants. Yeah. That's it.

Leave a Reply

