Gluten-Free Cranberry Bars

Uh oh…new blog obsession. I’m salivating over Katie Goodman’s blog goodLife {eats}. Her photography is wonderful and she makes simple yet amazing recipes that are easily adapted. She is not a gluten free baker, but I was able to adapt her recent recipe for Cranberry Crumb Bars with no problem at all! Please take a second to go click around on her site and check out her other recipes, I am incredibly impressed with her clear writing style and wonderful photography.

On another note…these cranberry bars are DELISH. I seriously ate half a pan this morning after they were cooled. Even Keith, who is not particularly fond of fruit in desserts liked this one, especially the sweet cinnamony cake! I actually halved the batch (on my first try! I know, I know…I’m a daredevil!) and they turned out great, I just baked them in an 8×8 glass pan and they turned out perfectly.

Gluten Free Cranberry Bars
Adapted from goodLife {eats}

Ingredients

1 cup white sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 1/2 cup flour*
1/2 tsp xanthan gum
1/2 cup almond meal
1 cup cold butter
1 egg
1/4 tsp cinnamon
juice of 1/2 orange
4 cups fresh cranberries
2/3 cups white sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1 tbs cornstarch

1) Preheat to 375 F. Butter a 9×13 baking dish.

2) Mix 1 cup sugar, flour, almond meal, salt, xanthan gum and baking powder. Cut in butter and egg with a fork or pastry cutter until incorporated and texture is crumbly. Pat half of dough evenly into pan.

3) Stir together sugar, cornstarch, vanilla and orange juice in a separate bowl. Mix in berries and toss until evenly coated. Spread evenly over dough.

4) Add cinnamon to remaining dough, then crumble dough over berries. Bake for 45-55 minutes or until brown on top. Chill completely before eating.

* I used the flour blend linked above to make these because it’s a really nice crumbly shortbread-esque blend. It was perfect if a little TOO cohesive because of the xanthan gum that I added. Next time I would try it without the additional xanthan gum and just use the blend as is.

Leave a Reply

