Autumn Pear Clafouti

I know when people think about fall, they normally think about apple orchards, cider, woodsmoke and pumpkins. I do too, but I also think about pears.

Have you ever taken a really good look at how many pear varieties there are in the grocery store or at the farmer’s market? Tons. They’re all so different too. Bright green Bartlett’s with a blush of pink and yellow, dusty Bosc’s, squat burgundy Seckel’s and round yellow Asian pears. They’re all beautiful, delicate, and completely different in taste. And I will probably eat at least one of each at least once this fall!

I was wandering around Whole Foods the other day when I saw an awesome deal on a bag of small Bartlett pears. They were tiny and adorable and I need more fruit in my diet. Sold. So all week I’ve been thinking about ways I could use up all these darn pears, and I started thinking about Bea at La Tartine Gourmande. She makes clafouti, a baked custard-like fruit dessert, like nobody’s business, and best of all she does it gluten free! Also, her pictures are amazing and beautiful and if you’ve never checked out her blog, I highly suggest you do!

Anyway, pear clafouti got into my head, so I found a recipe by Ina Garten of The Barefoot Contessa that sounded doable due to a very very small amount of flour. Yay! I adapted it and am completely addicted. I’m a sucker for a custard based dessert, and this one is particularly delicious, especially spiked with booze as it is! Try this out and savor the tastes of fall, ya’ll.

Couldn't wait for the picture before sampling...

Pear Clafouti
Adapted from The Barefoot Contessa

Ingredients

1 tablespoon unsalted butter, softened
1/3 c. + 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
3 eggs, room temperature
6 tablespoons gluten free flour mix (I used this one)
1 1/2 c. heavy cream
2 tablespoons gluten free vanilla
1 tsp. lemon zest
1/4 kosher salt
2 tablespoons Calvados (apple brandy)
2-3 firm pears
Confectioners sugar
Creme fraiche

1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2) Butter a 10x3x1.5 inch baking dish (I used a porcelain tart pan)and dust with granulated sugar

3) Beat eggs and 1/3 cup sugar in stand mixer for about 4 minutes or until fluffy.

4) On low speed, mix in flour, cream, vanilla, lemon zest, salt, and Calvados. Set aside for 10 minutes.

5) Peel, quarter, core and slice pears. Arrange slices in a single layer, fanned out, in the baking dish. Pour batter over fruit and bake until top is firm and golden, about 35-40 minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature with creme fraiche and powdered sugar.

Leave a Reply

