Buttermilk & Brown Sugar French Toast

Rain rain rain. I’ve watched all of my friends update their Facebook statuses (stati?) this morning, sad about the cold rain and gray skies that we are experiencing this week. I have to say to my friends, with respect: I don’t mind at all.

Rainy days give me the excuse I need to make comfort food. What might be too fattening or decadent on a warm sunny fall day all of a sudden becomes acceptable and preferred nosh. “Oh, 8 cups of hot chocolate and marshmallows? 10 pieces of cinnamon sugar toast dripping with butter? A whole bowl of spaghetti and homemade meatballs to myself? Done.”

Quick sidenote: I have FINALLY gotten moved into my new apartment. I am happily ensconced on the 11th floor of a highrise, right down the street from:
Whole Foods
Williams Sonoma
Crate and Barrell
Pottery Barn
Barnes and Noble
And about 85 other amazing ways to waste money. I can walk and save gas money and parking fees though, right? 🙂

Anyway, I’m unpacking my kitchen, which is proving to be a bit of a challenge because of a lack of storage for pots and pans along with my gargantuan amount of gluten free cooking supplies (ie, flours). I wanted to share with you all a recipe that I made before I packed up the last of my things at the old place for Buttermilk & Brown Sugar French Toast with Cherry Compote. MM. This was your basic “what I had in the pantry/fridge” recipe. I was out of regular milk, had 4 pieces of gluten free bread to use up, and needed to use up a bag of frozen cherries. TA DA. I wish that I had enough of my stuff unpacked to actually make this recipe today. Maybe Saturday… 🙂

Nom nom nom.

Nom nom nom.

Buttermilk Brown Sugar French Toast with Cherry Compote
Adapted from Martha Stewart

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups buttermilk
2 eggs
4 pieces of gluten free bread (I used Whole Foods sandwich bread, but I also think this would be awesome with the cinnamon raisin kind)
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
dash of salt
Unsalted butter

For the Cherry Compote:
1/2 bag frozen cherries
splash of orange juice
sprinkle of sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon

1) Beat together buttermilk, eggs, brown sugar, cinnamon and salt in a shallow bowl.
2) Soak bread in liquid until most/all is absorbed, about 3-5 minutes. Melt butter on griddle while you are waiting for the bread.
3) Fry bread slices in butter over medium heat until golden brown on both sides, approximately 3-4 minutes per side.
4) While you are frying, heat frozen cherries in a saucepan with juice, sugar, and cinnamon until they are warm, soft, and have released their juices.
5) Top the french toast with the cherries and juice. Feel as though living is a gift and luxuriate in the moment.

Leave a Reply

