Loco Locavores

As you might have guessed, I’m extremely interested in the locavore (local food) movement these days. I love going to the farmer’s market and scouring Whole Foods for locally produced products, but I’m not going to go all Barbara Kingsolver on you, don’t worry. If I did, I would be down to eating my potted plants, grass and possibly the acorns that are falling all over my car, because Arlington doesn’t actually HAVE farms. Thankfully we do have lots of great producers out in Maryland, Virginia, Pennsylvania and West Virginia that truck their amazing produce into the city. But I do think it’s awesome to support small farmers and your local economy. Fight the industrial farming man, man.

I wrote my first piece for NBC Washington’s website this week. AH! Go read about South Mountain Creamery and stay tuned for more columns about local restaurants, farms, and other food related fun. šŸ™‚
Leave a Reply

