Gluten Free Girl’s Lemon Olive Oil Cookies

As much as I want to try to improve my writing to be more eloquent, more interesting, more gosh darned food blogger-y, it will have to wait till next time. I’m really exhausted from work and the heat this evening, but still felt compelled to share something with you all. Fortunately, I have a few spare recipes that I’ve tried but not blogged yet. I’m feeling very strategery (and clearly missing Will Ferrell’s imitations of GW Bush today.)

Anyway, as I was pottering about in Del Ray a few months ago, I went into Cheesetique, a local cheese and wine bar carrying about…i don’t know, maybe 200 kinds of cheese? I mean really, there’s a whole fridge dedicated to goat cheese alone. This is my kind of store.

The other reason this place is nifty is that they have all kinds of oils, vinegars, crackers, snacks; essentially anything that you might need with cheese or wine, they have it. They even have some gluten free crispy crackers (granted, they’re like 7 dollars per box…owch). And it was in this foodie mecca, browsing through the 55 different kinds of olive oil, that I stumbled across a gem: Cobram Estate lemon twist olive oil. I can haz dat. yesh, I knows it costz bewcewp dawllars. oh wellz. must haz glooten free gurls lemun oliv oyl cookys. (I told you I was tired. The sad thing is that that is how my inner monologue actually sounded when I saw the bottle. I need to get off the internet.)

I bought the bottle, even though Keith was horrified that I spent 18 dollars on a bottle of olive oil. A small one. Oh well. The cookies were worth it. And I’ve actually used this olive oil in a couple of vinaigrette’s which have been outstanding. The lemon flavor is quite subtle but distinctly there, if you know what I mean. If not…sorry. That’s all I’ve got tonight.

These cookies were great. The only difference between my version and Shauna’s is that I rolled my dough balls in demerarra sugar instead of regular. The finished cookies turned out soft with a sugar crunch on the outside. MM. I love differences in texture, so these were a treat!

Gluten Free Girl’s Lemon Olive Oil Cookies
originally posted at Gluten Free Girl

1/4 cup plain, nonfat yogurt or sour cream (I used yogurt)
1/4 cup lemon olive oil (or the best quality olive oil you can afford)
1 egg
zest of one lemon
juice of one lemon
1/2 half cup white rice flour (I subbed sweet white rice flour)
1/4 cup tapioca flour
1/2 cup fresh ground almond meal
1/2 cup demerara (raw) sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder

1) Preheat the oven to 350°.

2) Combine the yogurt and olive oil. Stir in the egg, lemon juice and zest until well incorporated.

3)Whisk together dry ingredients in a separate bowl. Slowly, fold the wet ingredients into the dry. The dough will be extremely sticky.

4) Roll small balls from the dough and roll each ball in the raw sugar. I found that wetting my hands slightly helped the dough not to stick as I was rolling them. Place on a baking sheet covered with a silpat, or a layer of parchment paper.

5) Bake for 10-12 minutes. The cookies will still seem soft, but with a slight crust. Let them sit on the baking sheet, on the top of the oven, for about five minutes. This will let them come to the right consistency. Cool completely before eating.

I really really liked these. There was something sort of mysterious and exotic about them. Next time I make these, I am going to try adding something to them like sliced almonds or dried blueberries. MMMMM.

Leave a Reply

