CC Cookies on the Cape

I really wish that I were a more descriptive writer so that I could convey just what a unique experience I had on my trip to Cape Cod. Well, unique in the sense that I’ve never been in a place like that…not really like I’m the only one who’s ever been. πŸ™‚

I’ve always wanted to go to Massachusetts, and coincidentally, Keith’s family has a house on Cape Cod. Wait, I forgot: I don’t believe in coincidences! It must have been destiny. Yeah, that’s more believeable.
Being the generous soul that he is, my man invited me to the Cape for the Fourth of July weekend. Yay! Road trip! Yeah that’s right…we drove to Cape Cod from DC. And yes, I did take pictures like this for quite a while. I’m glad Keith knows how to drive on the Bronx Expressway and take goofy pictures simultaneously. There’s that destiny thing again, because if I was driving and he tried to do this to me, I would have a panic attack.

We finally made it up after about 8 hours in the car, during which we sang to the Beatles, stopped to walk the dog (we shuttled his sister’s Golden Retriever up with us. He was very good, other than giving us pitiful looks from the back seat), and ate turkey sandwiches which we (read: Keith) toasted bread for by slipping into a McDonalds and holding a toaster on his knee as he stood by the bathrooms. Ahhhhh gluten free living. Just wouldn’t be a road trip if you didn’t have to explain why you are holding a toaster in a hallway to a staring bathroom user.

This is his “But HOW can you resist me?!” face
I would love to describe the whole trip, but it was long. Let me say that the highlights for me were having whole lobsters with potato chips and vodka tonics our first night at the house, and then lobster rolls the second night. I won’t even expound upon the incredibleness of Janet’s 95% gluten free kitchen (John gets a very small counter with his own toaster. She is a benevolant ruler!), getting Four Seas ice cream, or the awesome array of burgers on our 4th of July picnic.

What really stuck with me when I got home were the chocolate chip cookies. One day, Keith and I woke up (very late) to a crash in the kitchen. Apparently, the sisters were baking glutinous chocolate chip cookies, and the golden retriever caused a collision, thereby earning himself a treat (albeit a hairy, drool covered one). I walked out into the chaos and asked if these were gluten free. Although they weren’t, Janet reached into the freezer and pulled out a Ziploc bag of cookie dough balls. “These are!” It was like Christmas! πŸ™‚
It’s a good thing that Keith and I had to walk the dogs and thus, ourselves. We ate so many delicious rich things that I’ll be shocked if I didnt move up a pant size. Janets cookies were the first homemade chocolate chip cookies that I’d had that really tasted like the real thing. My previous efforts were put to shame, and I’m sorry to say that Ginger Lemon Girl’s cookies have been replaced.
I tried to replicate hers when I got home, but they weren’t exactly the same. Nevertheless, this recipe will do very nicely until I get Janet to give up her version. And if this looks familiar, it is the Nestle Tollhouse recipe gussied up and gluten free. Why? Because they are, and will always be, the best chocolate chip cookies EVER.
Almost Cape Cod Chocolate Chip Cookies
2 1/4 cups flour mix*

1/4 cup almond meal

2 1/2 tsp xanthan gum

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 stick of butter, softened

1/2 c. butter flavored shortening**

3/4 c. sugar

3/4 c. packed brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 large eggs

2 cups Ghirardelli semi-sweet baking chips (I previously said that these were Godiva chips! My mistake.)

1) Preheat oven to 375 F. Line baking sheet with parchment paper or Silpat.

2) Whisk together dry ingredients minus sugars. Set aside.

3) Cream butter, shortening and sugars together until fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla and beat until thoroughly combined.

4) Add dry ingredients to wet slowly until completely combined. Stir in chocolate chips.

5) Chill dough, covered, for at least one hour.

6) Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto lined baking sheet. Bake at 375 for 9 to 11 minutes. Let cool on baking sheet for about 5 minutes, then move to cooling racks.

Notes

– I found that these cookies were best enjoyed when thoroughly cooled, otherwise they were a little too soft to handle.

– These make a pretty large batch. I baked a sheet of 12 and then froze the rest. Just line your baking sheet, roll teaspoons of batter into balls, and then freeze them in batches. Store in a Ziploc and bake whenever you’d like a nummy cookie! Really convenient.

*Flour Mix
1 cup brown rice flour

3/4 cup white rice flour

3/4 cup tapioca starch

1/4 cup sorghum flour

1/4 cup potato starch

**In terms of using the shortening, I like doing this because the cookies don’t seem to spread as much using part shortening and part butter. That’s just my preference. As far as I know, Janet uses all butter and hers are excellent. Use what you like!
4 Responses to “CC Cookies on the Cape”

  1. Amy Green Says:

    Isn't it wonderful when someone you love makes a special treat just for you. πŸ™‚ Love the recipe – thanks for sharing.

  2. Amy Green Says:

    Isn't it wonderful when someone you love makes a special treat just for you. πŸ™‚ Love the recipe – thanks for sharing.

  3. Autumn Pear Clafouti « Die Hard Foodie Says:

    […] 1/3 c. + 1 tablespoon granulated sugar 3 eggs, room temperature 6 tablespoons gluten free flour mix (I used this one) 1 1/2 c. heavy cream 2 tablespoons gluten free vanilla 1 tsp. lemon zest 1/4 kosher salt 2 […]

  4. Mixed Berry Cobbler « Die Hard Foodie Says:

    […] cup plus 1 tablespoon butter 3/4 cup gluten free oats 1/2 cup flour (I used this mix, but I think pretty much any all-purpose mix would work here) 1/2 cup light brown sugar 1/2 cup […]

Leave a Reply

