Crepes. Oh yes.


I’ve been thinking a lot lately about my friend Amy and missing our Sunday brunches in Georgetown. We would wake up around 11:30 then make our way to Cafe Napoleon for crepes slathered in Nutella and strawberries and astoundingly velvety cappuccinos before shopping all afternoon at our favorite vintage store, Annie Creamcheese. Damn, I miss those crepes. I’m probably thinner for not eating them, but there you are. I had to have some!
However: tonight began with a truly terrible batch of gluten free crepes.

Crepe Fail

This fundamentally saddened me, because I had been waiting to use my new crepe pan for about 3 months or so now. I’ve been admiring it from every angle, looking at the pretty non-stick finish, imagining gorgeous crepes flying off it onto my friend’s plates. They would think I was a genius. I mean, who makes homemade crepes in my group of friends? Approximately….nobody. The whole reason I bought said pan was because of the recipe that I tried first thing this evening. It was awful. AWFUL. I might not like quinoa flour, for the record.

Crepe Success!

Fortunately, my crepe experience was saved! I tweaked and fiddled and finally came up with a great combo of taste and texture. These puppies remind me SO much of the gluten-y version, I honestly couldn’t tell you the difference. I think next time, I’ll replace the water with Calvados and see how that goes down 🙂

TIPS:

This is my first time making gluten free crepes, so I noticed some behavioral differences with the batter.

*I know it’s hard, but let the crepes cool before you eat them. They come out of the pan crispy, but as they cool they get elastic and soft. And amazing. Did I mention these are amazing?

*You’ll know to flip them when the edges are curling away from the hot pan and feel crispy.

Next time, Nutella!

Sunday Morning Gluten Free Crepes

1/2 cup sweet rice flour
1/2 cup potato starch
1 tsp xanthan gum
1 tsp sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup milk
2 eggs
1/4 cup water
1 tablespoon butter, melted

1) Combine dry ingredients. Set aside.

2) Whisk together milk and eggs. Add melted butter and whisk until combined.

3) Add milk mixture to blender first, then dry. Blend together until combined. Add water and stir/blend for approximately one minute. Let mixture rest covered for 30 minutes at room temperature.

4) Cook crepes in shallow pan on medium heat until edges are crispy and curling away from pan. Flip, cook for additional minute, then turn onto plate. Let rest for approximately 5 minutes before eating. Fill with fruit, chocolate, whipped cream, jam, or anything else that you fancy!

7 Responses to “Crepes. Oh yes.”

  1. gfbakergirl88 Says:

    how many eggs? i dont see them listed in the recipe.

  2. gfbakergirl88 Says:

    how many eggs? i dont see them listed in the recipe.

  3. kitschen Says:

    I am so sorry about that! See what happens when I blog too fast? There were 2eggs in this recipe, and I'll update the entry to reflect that. Thank you for pointing that out! 🙂

  4. kitschen Says:

    I am so sorry about that! See what happens when I blog too fast? There were 2eggs in this recipe, and I'll update the entry to reflect that. Thank you for pointing that out! 🙂

  5. gfbakergirl88 Says:

    thanks for the recipe, i have missed crepes!

  6. gfbakergirl88 Says:

    thanks for the recipe, i have missed crepes!

  7. Choupi Crepes « Die Hard Foodie Says:

    […] course, for my gluten challenged friends, I highly recommend my Gluten Free Crepe recipe that you would be crazy not to try this weekend. Try it out on your gluten loving friends and see […]

Leave a Reply

