Heirloom Tomato Salad with Vinaigrette

Tonight’s recipe was actually inspired because I wanted to make crepes. Seriously.

I walked into my apartment tonight blithely unaware that I had absolutely nothing to make for dinner except mac and cheese or eggs. I’m trying to watch my diet this week so that I don’t scare everyone silly in my bathing suit this weekend when Keith and I go up to Cape Cod. Hmmmmm what to do.
I got as far as mixing up the batter for gluten-free crepes, when I realized that the directions said that the batter has to sit for an hour before actually making the crepes. Sigh. I have plans with a friend at 7, so that’s not going to work. Move batter to fridge. Oo, fridge. Dig dig dig. Hmmmm tomatoes, garlic, oh look, fresh basil in my window box. Ok, let’s make something up.

This is what I came up with (crepes will probably come tomorrow). This was really satisfying for a quick dinner, and healthy to boot! 🙂 I like that the dressing is a little different from the traditional greek dressing, and a little lighter on the waistline as well.

Heirloom Tomato Salad with “Greek” Vinaigrette

Two heirloom tomatoes, sliced (I used a yellow and a Cherokee Purple)
Fresh Basil

Dressing:

2 cloves of garlic, minced fine
1 tsp fresh thyme, minced
1 tsp fresh rosemary, minced
3 tablespoons freshly grated Parmesan
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 pepper
1/2 c champagne vinegar
1/2 c oil (obviously you could use olive, but I chose to use a sunflower flax blend. It was really pretty and yellow!)

Slice tomatoes and basil and arrange on the plate. Whisk together dressing and pour over tomatoes. Eat joyfully and thank the maker for summer tomatoes.
Leave a Reply

