Strawberry & Brown Sugar Oatmeal

Boy, does it ever feel like summer outside now! Sunshiney, very humid (welcome to DC), and everything leafed out and gorgeous. I love warm weather.

My mom visited this weekend, and we were able to do a lot of my favorite warm weather, DC things. We went to Roosevelt Island for a hike this morning, yesterday we walked to the Court House Farmer’s Market and bought strawberries that are absolutely to die for, and then went over to Del Ray and hit the Dairy Godmother for some frozen custard. MM. Later in the evening, Keith concocted his favorite combination of perfectly ripe strawberries and vanilla custard. Wowza.

Odd, then, that my favorite thing that I ate during my mom’s whole trip was actually a winter standard for me: Oatmeal. I got a box of gluten free oats this winter because I just missed oatmeal raisin cookies entirely too much. Oddly, I had never tried making oatmeal with them, even though there are microwave instructions right on the box. Oops. I know that oatmeal is a good standard breakfast that my mom likes, so this morning we made oatmeal on the stovetop, then topped it with brown sugar and strawberries. If I hadn’t downed it so fast, I would have probably put a little half and half on top or something, but it was SO good as is! The berries were really ripe so they were juicy and a little tart paired with the brown sugar. mmmm. I am going to try to get more fiber in my diet from now on, this will be a great way to do it. I’ve also been thinking about the possibility of grinding some of my own gluten free oat flour! šŸ™‚

Gluten Free Strawberry Oatmeal

2/3 c. certified gluten-free whole oats (Mine are “Gluten Free Oats” brand)

1 1/3 c. water or milk (I used water just to keep it low calorie)

1/4 tsp. salt

sliced strawberries

brown sugar

cream or half and half

Combine oats, salt and water or milk in a havy saucepan. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to simmer for 8-10 minutes, until thick.

Top with sliced strawberries, brown sugar and cream to taste. Make sure
Leave a Reply

