My Little Kumquat

Picture courtesy of Wikipedia

I couldn’t resist that little clear box of kumquats. Between the cartons of mundane blueberries, raspberries, strawberries lay the little orange attention getters, a splash of summery sunshine in the grocery store. “Show offs,” I thought to myself, smiling.

I took them home, carefully nestled between a carton of eggs and some hazelnut crackers. I stared at them the whole trip on the train, wondering if I would like them.

Pouring them into a silver colander in my kitchen, they rolled around like jewelweed-colored eggs. Almost completely ripe, each had a tip that was ever so slightly lime green.

I’d read about kumquats in cookbooks, on other blogs, in magazines, but nothing I read could have prepared me for the flavors those little fruits have. I think the best word I’ve heard to describe the taste is “haunting.” I’ve thought about and analyzed that flavor for days now, trying to think of what I could liken it to for those who have never experienced it. The best I can come up with is a cross between an orange, tangerine, and lime. The sweet and sour is inverted in this fruit, the flesh a sour burst inside a sweet rind. The combination made my teeth ache and my tastebuds question my judgement. I’m officially in love.

The most wonderful thing about a kumquat is that the flavor lingers on your lips and tongue much longer than any other fruit I’ve ever tasted. Into the night, I lay in my bed licking my lips and thinking about this singular sensory experience.

I’m in the process of looking for some recipes to use the rest of mine in, but for now I am just enjoying popping them in my mouth whole and spitting out the seeds. This beats any candy I’ve ever tasted.

2 Responses to “My Little Kumquat”

  1. Maureen "Hold The Gluten" Says:

    Oooh – they are so pretty and so darn cute! I’ve never tasted a kumquat and now I’m intrigued!!

  2. Maureen "Hold The Gluten" Says:

    Oooh – they are so pretty and so darn cute! I’ve never tasted a kumquat and now I’m intrigued!!

Leave a Reply

