These are a few of my favorite things…

For the last few days I’ve been in a writing slump. I’ve eaten roasted thyme and olive oil red potatoes, broiled steak with buttered mushrooms, and toasted sesame green beans. I baked a gluten free orange poppy seed cake with a zesty orange glaze. Sounds good, right? I didn’t feel like writing about it.

I have realized that I feel overweight again. Nothing big, mind you, just enough to make my jeans feel tight. And it’s not from the meals that I’ve been including on this blog, either. The mint chip ice cream encounters at 11pm and the York peppermint patties for “lunch” are beginning to show themselves on my waistline, and I am finally in a place to recognize when I should run screaming to the gym. So, my dear readers, avast! Let us get healthy together!

Rather than share a recipe with you today, I thought I would share some of my favorite things (I wish there was a way to say that without sounding like Oprah) that I’ve found for the kitchen lately.


Le Creuset 10-Ounce Mortar and Pestle

I love Le Creuset. Their products are all ridiculously durable and beautiful at the same time. You just can’t beat them for quality. I love this color, it reminds me of tropical waters and white beaches. Aaaahhh. Sunshine. Also, it’s great for bashing up whole spices for a cup of Srini’s chai. Keep prepared concentrate in the fridge for up to a week and just mix with milk as you go.


Nigella Lawson’s Mezzaluna


I don’t know about you, but I don’t have the best knife skills in the whole world. I love this mezzaluna because it makes chopping big leafy bunches of herbs, garlic, and anything else so much easier. I particularly like this one because it’s stainless and easy to clean. Props on a great tool, Ms. Lawson. She really IS the queen! You can find this beauty at Amazon.


Jamie Oliver’s Vintage Chic Dinnerware

Oh bless you, Jamie Oliver. Bless you for understanding my desire for a vintage feel to my place settings, minus the tacky mustard yellow, rust orange and avacado green flowers and paisley. Thank you for your tasteful colors and graceful designs and your inclusion of a bowl deep enough to eat cereal out of in this set.You are truly the man.



Whimsie Dots Upcycled Napkins

Whimsie Dots is a Chicago based Etsy
artist who upcycles vintage bed linens into beautiful reversible table napkins. I love the soft prints she has combined, especially the garden themed ones. Support the artisans on Etsy!

I hope you all have a wonderful remainder of your week. Check back for something delicious and nutritious in the next few days!

Leave a Reply

