New York state of mind

Hey all! This afternoon I am leaving for New York City with my friend Katie. I am so excited! The last time I was in NYC, I was really really ill and freezing cold, but had a blast anyway. This time it’s Katie who is sick, but we’re still going to power through. We can do it!
I feel a little nervous about sticking to my gluten-free diet while in NYC, the capital city of my beloved Brooklyn Bagel, Gray’s Papaya, Pellegrino’s, the ultimate black and white cookies and Ray’s Pizza. This is truly going to be the first serious test for me. I hope I can resist my favorite New York treats without sinking into “the depths of despair,” as Anne of Green Gables calls it.
I have resolve for several reasons though. I can’t wait to go try out Risotteria and S’MAC. A friend of mine who will also be there this weekend has said that Tao is delectable and if I bring my gluten-free tamari sauce, I can participate! And last but not least on my (very long) list of places to eat, Babycakes has gluten-free cupcakes that I’ve heard mixed reviews about but will certainly sample for myself. Armed with my handy list of eateries, I feel like I might just make it through this weekend.
Wish me luck.
I leave you now with a few memories from Katie and I’s trip last year!

The tree. Honestly…I was thoroughly unimpressed.

At Max Brenner’s. Thoroughly IMPRESSED!


In the back of a cab. Scared.

I love these! Also I was freezing my tush off!

4 Responses to “New York state of mind”

  1. wholarmor Says:

    Have fun! I’d love to go to NYC at Christmas time!
    My kids had gluten allergies when they were younger. It’s a pain. Sorry you have to miss out on the good stuff!

  2. wholarmor Says:

    Have fun! I’d love to go to NYC at Christmas time!
    My kids had gluten allergies when they were younger. It’s a pain. Sorry you have to miss out on the good stuff!

  3. Katie Says:

    Oh, that trip looked like fun! I loooooved SMAC when I went to visit. I think it was my favorite of all the gluten-free places I ate!

  4. Katie Says:

    Oh, that trip looked like fun! I loooooved SMAC when I went to visit. I think it was my favorite of all the gluten-free places I ate!

Leave a Reply

