Home

Heaven (Co. Donegal)

I’ve been considering going back to Ireland lately. It’s tempting. Aer Lingus is having their winter holidays sale. This is always the time of year that I tend to feel nostalgic, since I was there over Christmas and New Year’s three years ago. There’s nothing quite like Christmas in a country that makes you feel as warm and snuggly as Ireland.
I’m dying for the opportunity to smell peat fires drying my damp jeans and socks over a fire screen while drinking tea. Oh yes…these things really do happen there. I know it sounds cliche, but cliche’s are cliche for a reason. I want Maggie to wash my hair in her kitchen sink, to boo and throw things at the telly during the Queen’s Christmas address, to revel in the sense that this place is familiar but yet wholly foreign all at once. Ireland is home and it is amazing. And I can’t believe I’ve been gone for this long.
I can’t just buy my ticket at the moment. I’m dying to throw responsibility to the winds, to get a new credit card, buy my ticket, put the whole trip on it and to worry about it later. I want to do this, really. But the irritating practical Capricorn side of my personality keeps rearing it’s ugly little head and saying “no.” All I want to do is bitch slap that voice and wing my way to the greenest place I’ve ever seen in real life. But no. Maybe next year.
Instead, I’m planning on making some of my favorite treats that I came to love while I was there. Scones and tea and a traditional Irish fry up (minus the blood sausage…BLECK!). I’m also going to go to World Market to invest in some of my favorite british chocolate treats (Flake bars? Yorkie’s? we’ll see what looks gluten free). I’m a sucker for Devonshire cream and lemon curd. Drool.
No recipe today, but I’ll leave you with some pictures of my last trip. If you’re considering visiting Ireland any time soon, I highly reccommend Belfast!

A spontaneous jam session at Bonner’s Bar

in Mullach Dobh.

The cutest thatch roofed cottage
i
n all of Anagry.

Belfast’s city hall in the City Centre.

Me in County Donegal. Cold and loving it.

4 Responses to “Home”

  1. The Empty Envelope Says:

    Lovely photos!!! My family is from Antrim and Armagh, so I have plans to someday go. How can I miss a country that I’ve never even been to so much??

  2. The Empty Envelope Says:

    Lovely photos!!! My family is from Antrim and Armagh, so I have plans to someday go. How can I miss a country that I’ve never even been to so much??

  3. kitschen Says:

    Thanks so much!

    Missing Ireland when you’ve never been is a genetic thing, I think. I would go sooner rather than later. You’ll never be sorry!

  4. kitschen Says:

    Thanks so much!

    Missing Ireland when you’ve never been is a genetic thing, I think. I would go sooner rather than later. You’ll never be sorry!

Leave a Reply

