The Aftermath

I decided to tackle a potentially insurmountable obstacle this weekend. I became tired of looking in my cabinets for a snack, only to be faced with a ton of food that wasn’t gluten-free, so I cleared the way for bigger and better things. I took every wheat or gluten related item out of my kitchen and piled it in a big box in my living room. As I looked at the giant heap, I started to get sad that Oreos, glutinous pasta, and my chicken broth (?!) no longer had a place in my life. I have literally felt like I’m in mourning at certain points. Food is a HUGE deal to me, if it’s not obvious by now.

However, as I reflected a little, I realized that I was ridding myself of many food items that I’ve kept around for convenience sake. I often rail against processed food, chemicals, additives, preservatives…and yet I was still eating them, like the biggest hypocrite EVER. Products like these are easy and convenient when you’ve had a long, hard day at work and just don’t have the intestinal fortitude to roast a chicken and bake your own bread. Gotta love the Kraft mac and cheese with a Diet Coke on the side; welcome to my senior year of college.

I’ve decided to seriously challenge myself to walk the walk on buying fresh, organic, and now wheat free food. Not to say that eating wheat-free is “diet”; Annie’s makes a pretty deadly gluten free boxed mac and cheese! But food should just be food…there shouldn’t be anything extra in there, including wheat as a filler, thickener, whatever.

I’ve decided to donate all of the unopened food in my pantry to a food bank. Tis the season šŸ™‚ The opened stuff will go to my parents because let’s face it…my rents don’t normally buy Oreos and will be excited to get their hands on some preservatives and lard-y goodness!

Anyone else purging from their pantries this holiday season? If you are and are in the greater DC Metro area, please consider donating your extra food to the Capital Area Food Bank. You’ll get warm and tingly inside when you do this. Trust me.

4 Responses to “The Aftermath”

  1. allison Says:

    you are AWESOME. congrats on the new lifestyle!

  2. allison Says:

    you are AWESOME. congrats on the new lifestyle!

  3. Katie Says:

    Yay for another NOVA gluten-free blogger! šŸ™‚ Your blog looks great! Throwing out everything in your pantry…I’ve so been there!! Depressing…but it gets better!!

    Happy blogging šŸ™‚

  4. Katie Says:

    Yay for another NOVA gluten-free blogger! šŸ™‚ Your blog looks great! Throwing out everything in your pantry…I’ve so been there!! Depressing…but it gets better!!

    Happy blogging šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

