On Top of the World

This post will really have very little to do with food. This one is more about an experience. I know that I normally inject a lot of humor into my anecdotes (whether it’s intentional or not…i don’t know) but this one….I don’t know.

I was raised around old time music. No, before you ask, it is not not NOT bluegrass. Old time is what bluegrass was born from. It’s music that was played around the hearth in Kentucky, West Virginia, Tennessee, Virginia, North Carolina. It involves the same types of instruments: Fiddle, banjo, guitar, bass, mandolin. The wonderful thing about this genre is that it involves going to music festivals every summer. We stay up all night passing around a bottle of whiskey, playing tunes, and looking at the stars without their normal veil of light pollution. I look forward to my favorite one, Clifftop, more than my birthday, Christmas day, and payday combined.

I went this year for the shortest amount of time I’ve ever been, 4 days. Considering that I’ve been going for approximately 13 years now, this might not sound like a big deal in the grand scheme of things. Trust me, when I told my friends that I could only come for 4 days, they freaked. “WHAT?! ONLY 4 DAYS?!” Hah. Yeah, it’s called I have a job now and no vacation time.

I got there and set up camp and immediately ran into some of my best and oldest friends. These are people who have been with me for years, who love me just the way I am, who think that I am the ultimate because I can sew a dress. I love them back. They’re all wonderful and talented in their own ways, whether it’s music, social skills, whiskey pounding…all awesome. We’ve slowly expanded our circle of friends over the years, and every year it gets better as we meet new people. The idea of being able to live this way in the woods, sharing what we have (including our joys and sorrows, as well as liquor and food), playing music, talking until we’re hoarse and dancing our hearts out while throwing our heads back and laughing…this idea has been brought up at least once a day every year. I like the idea. I think it could actually work with these people.

Me and Kevin when asked to strike a pose
I ate delicious food from the Sweet Revenge Cafe, including the BEST apple crisp ever. I swear they must put MSG in this stuff, because I can’t walk by and smell it without buying some. With vanilla ice cream. Obviously. And I can’t just buy it once either; once I buy it the first time, I know i’ll have to buy one per day until they pack up and leave. It’s a curse, but one I don’t mind being saddled with.

I played music until my fingers calloused. I played with one of my best friend’s daughters, who looks just like Cindy Lou Who when she’s wearing pigtails. I sat under a tent and watched the rain fall. I slept in my car when my tent flooded, and even then there’s not a single place on Earth that I would rather have been.

Miss Layla Pickford takes a break from square dancing

Every year, I have an epiphany at this festival. In the past it’s been about boys, the way I live my life, my religious beliefs. This year was no exception. I had several. I’d like to share, but the nature of the internet is such that it probably wouldn’t be prudent. Suffice it to say, changes are being made in my life in big ways. Stay tuned.


All I wanted to say was that this year was wonderful, I met amazing people and I can’t wait for the next one.

6 Responses to “On Top of the World”

  1. Elizabeth Says:

    That sounds really interesting and fun. TFS! I love your blog!!

  2. Elizabeth Says:

    That sounds really interesting and fun. TFS! I love your blog!!

  3. Heather Says:

    I’m glad you had fun!!!

  4. Heather Says:

    I’m glad you had fun!!!

  5. wholarmor Says:

    Looks like a great time! And my DH would agree with you about not working at a job you hate just for money. Which would be why we are not wealthy in the monetary aspect of life. 😉

  6. wholarmor Says:

    Looks like a great time! And my DH would agree with you about not working at a job you hate just for money. Which would be why we are not wealthy in the monetary aspect of life. 😉

Leave a Reply

