A Mushroom, if you please


Hello blog readers! I apologize for my very very very long hiatus. Moving is a pain in the you-know-what. I have done some random cooking in the new place but hadn’t completely unpacked yet, so my camera/internet abilities were hindered. I now have both (yay!) so I will begin regular postings again 🙂

I have been doing a poor job of getting to the gym on a regular basis because of a sprain that occurred when I rolled my ankle in a hot pair of black Steve Madden stilettos. Seriously. So I’ve been trying very hard to keep up my healthy eating to compensate for being a couch slug. Seems to be working…the boyfriend informed me that I will “waste away” if I lose any more weight. I told him I loved him more in that moment than any other since we’ve been together. 😉 Seriously, I’ve gone from a size 14ish to a size 10, and am still losing!


My first “new apartment” dinner that I will share with you is a Marinated Portabello Mushroom Burger that I made last night. It is DELISH and ridiculously good for you. I used a cast iron grill pan to grill mine because apartments apparently are averse to letting you grill on decks if there is another deck right above you. Hmph. Fine. GRILL PAN. If you are lucky enough to live somewhere where a grill is acceptable, please do chargrill these puppies. You’ll thank me. And yes, I will admit to cheating and using a bottled dressing to marinate this, but I am not ashamed. Brianna’s Fine Salad Dressings are delicious and I will not apologize for my affection towards them.

Marinated Portabello Mushroom Burger

Two large portabello mushroom caps, lightly brushed to remove dirt
One bottle of Rich Santa Fe Blend Dressing (see above link)
Fresh whole basil leaves
Roasted red peppers, cut into strips
Sourdough rolls

1) After removing any dirt from the mushrooms, place them in a shallow baking dish side by side and pour dressing over them. Cover and put in fridge for 25 minutes, flipping once.
2) Heat cast iron skillet or grill while you’re waiting. You want them to go into a VERY hot pan.
3) Throw them onto your grill/pan and cook for about 5 minutes per side.
4) Build your burger: Roll, mushroom, basil, peppers, some extra dressing…Fini. You’ll love it. **Make this gluten free by using a gluten free roll or none at all! I love this over a green salad.

I had this with my new favorite fruit combo of green seedless grapes and blueberries. No french fries. Trust me…your thighs will thank you later.

Leave a Reply

