SpinQuiche and the Three Little Beets

I keep cooking and I keep getting excited about random new things πŸ˜‰

I’m trying to eat better these days, I think that has been well established yes? If not…I’m doing something wrong here! I made the boyfriend try egg beaters and turkey bacon last week with great success; in fact, I invented a “healthy” breakfast sandwich for him in order to try to get him to stop going to Potbelly’s for theirs. I mean, hi, look at the name! We don’t need any potbelly’s, thanks.

Yesterday I decided to make a quiche with my own newly accquired Egg Beaters. I got some gorgeous tangy feta crumbles and some frozen spinach….mmmm. Drool. Next time I make this, I would LOVE to try it with beet greens. I do love them so πŸ™‚ If this is health food, I will never ever ever need fast food ever again!

The thing I love the most about this dish is that you can throw it together really really fast and, in fact, can put it in the oven with most of the ingrediants cold and/or frozen! You can also do every flavor imaginable. Another fave is broccoli and cheddar or ham and swiss (i believe that’s a quiche lorraine. I’ll ask my boyfriends maman francaise). I always make this for potlucks and people love it, I have NEVER had leftovers!

Spinach & Feta Quiche


1 carton Egg Beaters

chopped frozen spinach

1 package of feta crumbles (I got plain, but there’s an awesome sundried tomato flavor that you should try!)

garlic powder

pepper

1 frozen (or fresh) gluten free pie shell
Mix together the eggs, frozen spinach, garlic powder, pepper and feta and pour into pie shell. Bake at 350 for about 25 minutes or until the center of the quiche doesn’t move when the pan is gently shaken. Serve warm.

* * * * * *

With this, I needed to eat a veggie (duh). I had beets living in the back of my fridge that I kept meaning to roast. No time like the present, eh?

Roasted Beets

4 small beets, peeled, scrubbed and quartered

safflower oil

salt

pepper

It’s not rocket science, peeps. Toss the beets in the oil, salt and pepper on a cookie sheet (not too much oil…this is supposed to be healthy!). Bake at 400 until tender. YUM YUM YUM!
6 Responses to “SpinQuiche and the Three Little Beets”

  1. ~Lisa~ Says:

    The last time I had beets, I was a small child. They were disgusting. These look surprisingly good. Maybe I should try them again. I too am trying to eat healthier. My latest breakfast has been zucchini & pepper fried in one spritz of olive oil. A little eggbeaters. Throw all into a whole wheat tortilla with some low fat mozzarella & a sprinkle of flaxseed. Yum. But I’m ready for something new. Off to bookmark your site, cuz I love me some spinach too!!

  2. ~Lisa~ Says:

    The last time I had beets, I was a small child. They were disgusting. These look surprisingly good. Maybe I should try them again. I too am trying to eat healthier. My latest breakfast has been zucchini & pepper fried in one spritz of olive oil. A little eggbeaters. Throw all into a whole wheat tortilla with some low fat mozzarella & a sprinkle of flaxseed. Yum. But I’m ready for something new. Off to bookmark your site, cuz I love me some spinach too!!

  3. Creative Junkie Says:

    I love egg beaters and my kids can’t tell that I haven’t used “real” eggs. And I love raw spinach but just can’t eat it cooked – only tiny little bits of it if it’s in something like a cheese filling for ravioli or lasagna. I love it raw though and try to stick a few leaves in salads at dinner. But beets? I just don’t think I can do them.
    Great site!

  4. Creative Junkie Says:

    I love egg beaters and my kids can’t tell that I haven’t used “real” eggs. And I love raw spinach but just can’t eat it cooked – only tiny little bits of it if it’s in something like a cheese filling for ravioli or lasagna. I love it raw though and try to stick a few leaves in salads at dinner. But beets? I just don’t think I can do them.
    Great site!

  5. Heather Says:

    mmmm beets are the bomb

  6. Heather Says:

    mmmm beets are the bomb

Leave a Reply

