What sound does a buffalo make?

I forgot to include a really superb dinner that I made for the boyfriend a few weeks back! There have just been too many fun things going on lately to remember everything…time to start a food journal so I can update the food blog…hahahah.

Trying out different meats is scary for me. My family was really a chicken/pork/beef family when I was growing up. Even though we’re Italian, veal never made an appearance. Yeah yeah I know, it’s delicious. I don’t care, I’m not eating a baby cow that was restrained from moving from birth. Ew. But honestly, the chicken/pork/beef cycle has gotten old. That’s why the veggies are making such a huge appearence lately. BOREDOM.

While at Wegmans with Heather a while back, I found a small and inexpensive package of ground bison. Figured I might as well try it, as I’ve heard it’s delish and good for you (in comparison with ground beef, anyway). I asked Eric how he felt about bison burgers, and since he didn’t run screaming in the opposite direction, I assumed he was ok with it.

I was also dying for summer related things! It was just starting to get warm around this time and I wanted three things: Sweet corn, strawberries, and watermelon. I spend months during the winter craving these things and I refuse to break down and buy them out of season. They do NOT taste good. blech. This is how Summer Corn Salad found it’s way onto the menu, along with roasted sweet potatoes. mm. I heartily reccommend both bison and all summer foods in general. It’s just that time!

Bison Burger

1 lb ground bison meat

2 tablespoons Worchestershire sauce (did I spell that correctly? I have no idea, but you know what I’m talking about!)
2 tablespoons olive oil*
1 tablespoon dried ground mustard
salt
pepper
1 green onion, chopped
Whole wheat hamburger buns
Lettuce, Tomato, cheese if you want (we had an awesome cheddar from Whole Paycheck)

Mix together. Form patties. Throw on grill. Eat. Enjoy. 😉

*Bison doesn’t have a lot of fat in it, so it tends to have a hard time binding together if you don’t add a little oil or fat of some sort. Olive oil to the rescue!

Summer Corn Salad

4 ears sweet corn, shucked
grape tomatoes
asparagus
1/2 Vidalia onion, chopped
olive oil
salt
pepper

1) brush the shucked corn with olive oil, and add a little salt. Grill until you poke it with a fork and it feels edible. Slice it off the cobs and set it aside to cool slightly.

2) Chop the asparagus into bite sized pieces, making sure to discard the tough ends. I would use large asparagus spears for this rather than the tiny ones. Just better! Throw the asparagus tossed in olive oil on a baking sheet in a 375 degree oven for 20ish minutes (depending on your oven), until tender. I did this with the Sweet Potatoes for the next part of the meal and just did them together.

3) Cut the grape tomatoes in half and chop the onions while you’re waiting.

4) Combine the corn, asparagus, tomatoes, onions, 1 tsp olive oil, salt and pepper in a big bowl and toss to coat. I LOVE this a little warm, but you could chill it too.

Roasted Sweet Potatoes

2 sweet potatoes, washed thoroughly
2 tsp. olive oil
seasoned salt
pepper

Just slice the potatoes kind of like steak fries (or you could just cube them, really whatever is easiest). Also, I didn’t peel them and they were fine, but you could if you had the energy. Coat in olive oil, seasoned salt and pepper and then put them on the same baking sheet as the asparagus in the corn salad. 20 minutes, 375 degrees. Done. Serve them on the side with the corn salad. YUMMM.

Happy Warm Weather, all.

4 Responses to “What sound does a buffalo make?”

  1. Heather Says:

    very cute little bison picture 🙂 glad you guys enjoyed it! we totally looove it.

  2. Heather Says:

    very cute little bison picture 🙂 glad you guys enjoyed it! we totally looove it.

  3. EDITORIAL BOARD Says:

    If I had skillz enough to cook your recipes, I would!

    Ahh, I love veal. I wish they could make it so wonderful without torturing the calf. That’s kind of a sick statement, isn’t it?

    I guess I should just stop eating it. Naw.

    -Mike Madison
    http://www.bluehorizondaily.com

  4. EDITORIAL BOARD Says:

    If I had skillz enough to cook your recipes, I would!

    Ahh, I love veal. I wish they could make it so wonderful without torturing the calf. That’s kind of a sick statement, isn’t it?

    I guess I should just stop eating it. Naw.

    -Mike Madison
    http://www.bluehorizondaily.com

Leave a Reply

