Tilapia in for Mahi

In my defense…I didn’t have a camera this week. My boyfriend is a photographer…but he was busy. See, I have reasons for not taking pictures. Cripes.

After the gym this past Thursday, I desperately wanted to make something healthy but didn’t know what. Tired of rice, tired of pasta, and neither of them suit my diet that I should be following. My darling friend Jessie, who attends Clemson and knows more about food than Alton Brown, suggested fish. Healthy, low fat, easy peasy to make. All true…but I honestly hate most fish except shellfish. She suggested mahi mahi and explained a super easy way to make it. I do love mahi…so ok.

Unfortunately, Whole Foods failed me for the first time in memory and didn’t have mahi mahi! AH! I asked the fish guy (who you should REALLY make friends with, by the way, they know everything) what I could get that was similar and he said tilapia. Still mild tasting (to the point of blandness). Awesome. I liked this, but I am definitely using Mahi next time, solely because it’s a little heartier and I think it would hold up to the cooking process a little better. This was still really good though.

So here’s what I made up with the very basic guidelines that I collected from Jessie. Loves you, girl.

Baked Garlic Ginger Tilapia with Seasoned Mushrooms

4 small tilapia fillets
1 orange bell pepper
1 medium Vidalia onion
2 tablespoons chopped or grated ginger
2 cloves garlic, chopped
Juice of 1 lime
1 orange, segmented
Salt
Pepper

Infused oil:
1/3 c. safflower or canola oil
1/3 tsp. red pepper flakes
1 tab grated ginger
1 tab minced garlic
1/2 tsp orange zest
1/2 tsp lime zest

1) Preheat the oven to 400 F.
2) Start your infused oil. In a shallow saute pan, combine everything and simmer for about 10 minutes. Keep the heat low, you don’t want to burn any of the spices. Burnt garlic = bitter. Yuck.
3) You’re gonna make two packets of fish and veggies. Take two pieces of parchment paper and place them side by side on a cookie sheet. Put two fillets in each packet and divide the veggies, garlic, ginger and orange segments. Make sure you season the fish pretty liberally…did I mention tilapia is like the tofu of fish? It’s b-l-a-n-d without seasoning.
4) Juice the lime and divide over contents of each packet.
5) Drizzle about 2 tablespoons of the infused oil over the top of the veggies and fish.
6) Now close up the packets. Bring the two ends together and roll down, then fold the ends. Put them seam side down on the cookie sheet.
7) Bake these suckers for about 25-30 minutes. Just be careful when opening up the packets that you don’t get a steam burn!

Seasoned Mushrooms

7-8 large white mushrooms
salt
pepper
a drizzle of the same infused oil you used on the fish above

Chop into bite sized pieces. Drizzle the pan with infused oil and add the mushrooms, along with a sprinkle of salt to draw the moisture out. Cook until soft and serve with tilapia.

On a side note, the boyfriend admitted that he isn’t crazy about mushrooms, but he ate every single one of them off his plate. Take that, mushroom doubters!

Leave a Reply

