Hummus and Strawberries


Not together. Don’t worry.

In my never ending quest for protein filled healthy snackies, I discovered a can of forgotten chickpeas in my cupboard. Far from being disappointed, I rejoiced in the knowledge that hummus was near!

This is the EASIEST food on the planet to make. Ever! I discovered something tonight that made it even better: plain yogurt. I never have tahini, and I hate the texture when it’s just the chickpeas and oil, so I thought to myself “Self, try adding plain yogurt.” I am SO right to listen to myself when I have good ideas like that. It turned out to be the best hummus I’ve had in ages! You may thank me later. Preferably with shoes, the gift of song, or by paying my rent.

Hummus

1 can chickpeas in water
1/4 c. olive oil
2 heaping tbsp. plain yogurt
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1/2 tsp sesame seeds
1/2 tsp sea salt
Drain half of the water off the chickpeas. Combine everything in blender (including the other half of the water) and blend until smooth! Eat on veggies, sandwiches, pita chips….get crazy.



The other thing that I decided to try this evening was Nigella Lawson’s recipe for Strawberry Jam. I bought some strawberries at the store (buy 1 get 1 free, woo!) and they smelled delish. Unfortunately they tasted like absolutely nothing. Sigh. I KNOW they aren’t at the peak of the season or anything, but they looked good. Ah well. The jam is lovely, and I made a substitution that I really really enjoyed 🙂

Strawberry Jam

3-3 1/2 c. chopped strawberries
2 1/2 c. sugar
2 tbsp lemon juice*
1 tsp balsamic vinegar

*I subbed key lime juice because I’m still working on getting rid of the little bag that I bought 2 weeks ago! It turned out REALLY good, next time i might throw in a little zest as well.


Place a small plate in the freezer before you start.

Put all the ingredients into a wide saucepan and sir with a wooden spoon to make sure fruit is coated.

Heat the pan on low and bring to a boil, stirring occasionally.

Boil for 5-8 minutes and start testing for the setting point at 4 mins. Take pan off the heat and put a scant teaspoon onto the frozen saucer. Leave it to cool and then poke at it to see if it’s ready. If the jam wrinkles when you push at it with a finger, it’s ready.

When it’s done, leave the pan to cool for 2o minutes before decanting into a clean jar. (I used a clean and sterilized Classico pasta sauce jar and the size was 100% perfect for the amount that this made!) Put it in the jar and close it up while warm, not hot, and then stick it in the fridge and wait for it to set.

Makes approximately 3 1/2 cups.

4 Responses to “Hummus and Strawberries”

  1. Heather Says:

    so, being a veteran hummus maker, i have to say, the thing that sets hummus apart is (do only when you have 6 hours of free time) is peeling the chick peas. it’s so good. i swear. worth the effort!

    wanna play next week? maybe thursday?

  2. Heather Says:

    so, being a veteran hummus maker, i have to say, the thing that sets hummus apart is (do only when you have 6 hours of free time) is peeling the chick peas. it’s so good. i swear. worth the effort!

    wanna play next week? maybe thursday?

  3. Heather Says:

    You have not yet posted your grilled chicken recipe! I am getting bored… all waiting for a new posting and such

  4. Heather Says:

    You have not yet posted your grilled chicken recipe! I am getting bored… all waiting for a new posting and such

Leave a Reply

