Vegetable Soup for the Soul

Hello again! Turns out people are reading this here blog o’mine…yay! Even if you ARE already people that I know and love..haha. I guess that just means that I won’t get as much hate mail. Keep it up and pass it on, I love when new people come to visit. 🙂

So, on a random side note to explain all of these veggie-filled things I’m making, I have decided that I really must lose 20 lbs. No, do not tell me I don’t need to. I joined a gym last week and got my body fat analysis/weight/BMI index done. Trust me, I need to lose it. Even my trainer told me that I carry this weight around well and that just by looking at me, she would never have guessed my numbers. So whatever, I’m going to the gym 5 days a week and eating veggies. What I have going for me is that I really like healthy food for the most part, and I try to always buy locally grown organic produce. Because let’s face it, not only is better for you, it makes you feel morally superior to people who buy the other stuff(kidding? I don’t even know anymore).

No pictures AGAIN. I am horrible about taking pictures, I get so caught up in actually cooking. Which is what is supposed to happen, i guess, so I won’t be too hard on myself about it.

I got home from the gym at 7:30 and figured if I didn’t cook something ASAP, I would be forced into canned soup hell, i.e. more sodium than eating straight salt. Yick. So I made a batch of veggie soup out of a bag of produce that I had on hand from my trip to Eastern Market with Heather last weekend. There is a really adorable wrinkly old lady from West Virginia who had the genius idea to bag random vegetables and sell them for $3.00. Its the best deal EVER, you can’t even get that much at the grocery store for $3! I heart Eastern Market.

Veggie Soup

1 small onion
4 stalks of celery
2 cloves garlic
2 carrots
4 new potatoes
a handful of fresh green beans, cut into bite sized pieces
basil
sea salt
pepper
garlic powder
2 boullion cubes
2 c. water
1 can chopped tomatoes in juice (I usually use Cento)

Chop up everything; I think I can skip the directions on that. Saute up the chopped veggies in a little bit of veggie oil. I used safflower oil, only because that’s what I had. Hit em with the salt and herbs to draw out some of the water and help them soften up. When they are somewhere between raw and soft, add the tomatoes, water and boullion cubes (you can, of course, use broth; I just didn’t have any). Let this all simmer over medium low heat for about an hour. Use the intelligence I know you have and test a veggie for done-ness*. If it’s soft, it’s done. Just don’t boil the heck outta this, it’s not necessary. Unless, of course, you enjoy overcooked vegetables resembling mush. Then it is TOTALLY necessary.

Since I’m in diet land, I didn’t eat this with anything at all (POUT) but I would suggest a toasted english muffin or some whole wheat bread for normal people. Enjoy!

*new word!

4 Responses to “Vegetable Soup for the Soul”

  1. Lizz Says:

    Ooh! This looks delish and I hope we still have a chilly evening so I can justify making it! Thanks!

  2. Lizz Says:

    Ooh! This looks delish and I hope we still have a chilly evening so I can justify making it! Thanks!

  3. mysterious-sam Says:

    I took a cooking class at school with the nutritionist (who is lovely and quite intelligent) and she had LOTS of nasty stuff to say about the body mass index stuff. She said that in her professional experience it was not an accurate method of determining who should lose weight/ how much a person should weigh. I wouldn’t base your “ideal” weight on that stuff. You know when you are at your ideal weight, it feels right and nobody else can tell you what that weight is.
    I love youuuu!!!

  4. mysterious-sam Says:

    I took a cooking class at school with the nutritionist (who is lovely and quite intelligent) and she had LOTS of nasty stuff to say about the body mass index stuff. She said that in her professional experience it was not an accurate method of determining who should lose weight/ how much a person should weigh. I wouldn’t base your “ideal” weight on that stuff. You know when you are at your ideal weight, it feels right and nobody else can tell you what that weight is.
    I love youuuu!!!

Leave a Reply

