Lime Ginger Sea Scallops with Asparagus

When I was little you could not have PAID me to eat scallops. I used to whine when my mom made them. “I don’t LIKE scallops! They’re gross! They’re mushy! I want spaghetti!” My poor mother. Looking back, she made a lot of gorgeous meals that I wouldn’t eat. Mom…I love you.

In the past 4 or 5 months, I have postively craved sea scallops. Not those tiny ones that are sometimes found swimming in grease over pasta at restaurants. I’m talking the huge wild caught sea scallops that are like the steak of shellfish. MMM. I keep buying them and then making them the same way, just cooked in butter over a skillet. Yummy but boring.

Last night I thought I’d marinate the little yummies in a lime ginger marinade, if only because that’s what I had on hand. This turned out to be the most delicious way I have ever eaten them, and even though I had about 6 or 7 of them, I wish I had had more!

Obviously the following recipe is something that you could increase the quantity of depending on how many scallops you have. I made a small batch because it was just me! Just make enough to coat everything well. Plus, it’s always better to have too much than not enough (that’s my inner-Italian coming out). I feel like this marinade would really be great on any fish, chicken or pork. Go wild.

Sorry about the lack of pictures, my rechargeable batteries are crap and will not hold a charge.

Lime Ginger Sea Scallops with Asparagus

Ingredients:

6-8 large sea scallops, rinsed and patted dry

Marinade:
1 tomatillo, diced
1 tbsp. fresh cilantro, chopped
1/2 c. fresh lime juice (I used key limes and this came out GREAT, but regular limes will work too!)
Zest of 1 lime
1/4 c. safflower oil (sub. vegetable oil)
2 tbsp. champagne vinegar
2 pinches sea salt
1 tbsp orange juice concentrate
1 jalepeno, (take out the ribs and the seeds) diced
Reserve: 1 tsp. fresh ginger, peeled and chopped fine

Combine all marinade ingredients (except for the ginger) in the blender and liquefy. Place scallops into a gallon ziploc bag and pour in marinade and ginger. Seal bag and toss to coat. Let the scallops marinate for 35 minutes or up to 4 hours.

Heat a very small amount of oil over medium heat in a medium sized frying pan with about 1 tsp of butter. Coat the pan and drain off any excess. Add the scallops, making sure they are well spaced and cook for approximately 4-5 minutes on each side. You’ll know they are done when they brown on each side and the marinade begins to carmelize. There will be some excess liquid from the scallops as they cook, which I took out in order to let them brown. It’s delicious as a sauce over the scallops, so if you want you can reserve it for serving. If not, just toss it.

Asparagus

I make this the same way I make all steamed veggies: In the microwave. I hate stove top steamers with a passion, because I was viciously steam burned by one at my friend Cat’s house one time. OW. That thing had it in for me.

Using a veggie peeler, peel the lower part of the stalk just to get the tough stuff off. If that’s too much trouble, you can just snap off the ends.

Cut the stalks in half. Throw them in a microwave friendly dish with a lid. Add a little butter, a little lime or lemon juice (I used lime since I used it on the scallops) and a tiny bit of salt. Microwave for 2 minutes. All done!

12 Responses to “Lime Ginger Sea Scallops with Asparagus”

  1. Heather Says:

    This sounds really similar to my marinade when I make a chicken sandwich. Only thing I add is red pepper flakes and cumin. It is ALWAYS good, so I’m sure this was tasty, too 🙂

    Excited about our curry cooking adventures!

  2. Heather Says:

    This sounds really similar to my marinade when I make a chicken sandwich. Only thing I add is red pepper flakes and cumin. It is ALWAYS good, so I’m sure this was tasty, too 🙂

    Excited about our curry cooking adventures!

  3. mysterious-sam Says:

    I make a lime ginger marinade similar to that for tofu and it is also delicious! Also.. I LOVE asparagus season in Oregon! It’s like $1.25 a pound here!
    i love you and your cute blog
    -Rita
    oh I also just bought a cookbook called the greens that I’ve been wanting today and it’s giving me sooo many ideas for yummy food!
    Oh and have you ever made a wacky cake? Kitri doesn’t eat eggs and I finally found something that is equally yummy to egg cakes minus the eggs! yayyyy. Recipes are easy to find with a google search but I added some crushed fancy chocolate to the batter and it was sooo good! and easy and cheap too! xoxo

  4. mysterious-sam Says:

    I make a lime ginger marinade similar to that for tofu and it is also delicious! Also.. I LOVE asparagus season in Oregon! It’s like $1.25 a pound here!
    i love you and your cute blog
    -Rita
    oh I also just bought a cookbook called the greens that I’ve been wanting today and it’s giving me sooo many ideas for yummy food!
    Oh and have you ever made a wacky cake? Kitri doesn’t eat eggs and I finally found something that is equally yummy to egg cakes minus the eggs! yayyyy. Recipes are easy to find with a google search but I added some crushed fancy chocolate to the batter and it was sooo good! and easy and cheap too! xoxo

  5. Ugly Bunnie Says:

    Rosemary! I am in love with your blog…I love food and had started blogging/flickering about everything I cook too.

    I can’t wait to try out some of your recipes.

    Kimberly (your axid sister)

  6. Ugly Bunnie Says:

    Rosemary! I am in love with your blog…I love food and had started blogging/flickering about everything I cook too.

    I can’t wait to try out some of your recipes.

    Kimberly (your axid sister)

  7. Cat Says:

    Oh no… am I the Cat responsible for the vicious steam burn? I don’t remember maiming you… but if it was my steamer I am tres sorry. ❤

  8. Cat Says:

    Oh no… am I the Cat responsible for the vicious steam burn? I don’t remember maiming you… but if it was my steamer I am tres sorry. ❤

  9. kitschen Says:

    Hooray for all the awesome friends who read me! 🙂

    Kim: what’s your blog address? I wanna read!

    Cat: YES, it was when Toros was there. I was steaming those beans and TOTALLY burned myself. I didn’t say anything because…well, probably because i was drunk and didn’t feel it at the moment 🙂

  10. kitschen Says:

    Hooray for all the awesome friends who read me! 🙂

    Kim: what’s your blog address? I wanna read!

    Cat: YES, it was when Toros was there. I was steaming those beans and TOTALLY burned myself. I didn’t say anything because…well, probably because i was drunk and didn’t feel it at the moment 🙂

  11. Ugly Bunnie Says:

    Hi Rosemary,

    i actually deleted my old blog and started a new one turtlejackson.blogspot.com

    I should be putting up some new food pictures up soon but if you’re bored at work i usually post my pics on http://www.flickr.com/photos/creampuffs

  12. Ugly Bunnie Says:

    Hi Rosemary,

    i actually deleted my old blog and started a new one turtlejackson.blogspot.com

    I should be putting up some new food pictures up soon but if you’re bored at work i usually post my pics on http://www.flickr.com/photos/creampuffs

Leave a Reply

