Day Two of all Veggies!


Ahhhh spring! I’m so happy it’s here. Tulip trees are exploding with pink blossoms, the cherry blossoms in DC are out (although I haven’t been yet because I refuse to deal with the tourists), and pollen is coating my car. It’s good to be alive.

Another fun thing about spring is the farmer’s market! Although many of them are year round in my area, I refuse to go walk around in snow to buy squash and homemade jam. Fine. You caught me. But now it’s nice and I’m going, toting my canvas bags and a wallet full of cash. Last weekend I went to one in Falls Church with my foodie friend Heather. We had a blast! I bought fresh mozzarella, which is better than ANYTHING I have ever had. Period. I also bought basil jam, which I’ll figure out what to do with later, a homemade chocolate whoopie pie, and fresh beets. DROOL.

The original plan was to roast the beets, because they are absolutely like candy that way. SO delish. Plus no peeling…eeee I’m so lazy! But today I found a basic recipe for a beet and carrot salad on Chocolate & Zucchini that looked awesome, so I decided to try it (I mean really, who am I not to trust Clotilde Dusoulier). I am OBSESSED with this salad. Obsessed. Big time. In a way that I haven’t been about a pair of shoes, my guitar or a man in a while! I tweaked it, of course, and turned it into something very different. Another fun thing was that the beets came with the greens, which are delicious boiled quickly and served with butter and salt or a little olive oil. I did this, but my camera ran outta juice! Try it though, it’s very similar to spinach, but I thought it was tastier. And according to my cookbook, beet greens actually have more iron than spinach.

Tell your friends about the blog 😉

Grated Beet & Carrot Salad

For Beet & Carrot part:

1 medium sized beet, trimmed and peeled
1 large carrot, peeled
1 1/2 tsp vegetable oil
1/2 tsp champagne vinegar
sprinkle of ground black pepper
sprinkle of seasoned salt

Base/Garnish:

Mixed greens or arugula
chevre

Reduction:
1/4 c. balsamic vinegar
1/2 tsp. raspberry preserves (these can be seedless or not. I used the kind with seeds, they don’t bother me at all)

Combine the vinegar and preserves in a small frying pan over medium heat. Simmer, stirring occasionally, until the mixture has thickened.

Grate peeled beet and peeled carrot. Combine in large bowl with oil, vinegar, salt and pepper. Adjust seasonings to taste. Place on bed of mixed greens and top with a small pinch of goat cheese. Drizzle reduction around the edge of the plate.

Leave a Reply

