Just wanted to see if I could do it

Today I randomly decided to make bread pudding. I had a semi-stale french baguette from Trader Joes, eggs, my roommate’s milk…why not? I just sort of made it up as I went along.

Also, pay no attention to my seriously grimy kitchen. I live with guys. They don’t clean and I don’t have all day to clean up after them 🙂

French Bread Pudding with Lemon Sauce

1 baguette, cut into slices

3 cups whole or 2% milk

5 eggs

2 tbsp. vanilla extract

1/2 c. sugar

raisins (optional)

1) Grease either a deep pie plate or square baking dish liberally with butter. Don’t be afraid of it…butter is your friend. Preheat the oven to 350F.

2) Whisk together milk, eggs and sugar in a seperate bowl.

3) Slice the baguette into 3/4 inch thick slices (approximately, obviously) and arrange them on the bottom of the pan as closely as possible. Sprinkle with cinnamon and raisins. If you are using raisins, I have found that they tend to singe on top, so I would only put them on the first layer.

4) Pour approximately half of the milk mixture over the bread.

5) Add another layer of bread and pour the remainder of the milk mixture over top. Sprinkle with cinnamon.

6) Bake for about 45 minutes or until it doesn’t look runny anymore.

Lemon Sauce

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 tablespoon cornstarch

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup boiling water

1 tablespoon finely grated lemon peel

2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

1 tablespoon butter

In a saucepan, combine sugar, cornstarch and salt. Add boiling water. Cook, stirring constantly, until mixture is thick and clear. Stir in lemon peel, lemon juice, and butter. Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

