Baked and Wired

Strawberry Cupcake with Strawberry Icing

Today marks a day to be remembered…my first foray into the cupcake bakeries of D.C.! To be honest, my two friends and I ended up at Baked & Wired by accident. We originally wanted to go to Georgetown Cupcake, but when we got there, two things prevented us from eating there:
1) The line was out the door. By a lot. About halfway down the block. We asked one guy how long he’d been there, and he said about 15 minutes and it wasn’t moving. Oy.
2) This helpful man in line also informed us that the bakery was out of everything.
Welll ok. Not to be foiled, we decided to go shopping for a few minutes in Anthropologie, where a lovely sales girl turned out to be a cupcake-o-phile just like Heather and I. She told us about Baked & Wired, which was right down the street. We went, we saw, we conquered. Although they only had a few kinds of cupcakes (strawberry, red velvet, vanilla with vanilla, and yellow with chocolate buttercream), they were pretty good. I loved how they were presented in the paper they were baked in, WAY cuter than regular liners.

Red Velvet Cupcake with Cream Cheese Frosting

To be fair, I heard the girl working at Baked and Wired say that they had been in Georgetown for about 7 years, while I believe Georgetown Cupcake just opened. Maybe it was just the “new” factor that was pullin in the people. Either way, it sounded to me like they had comparable menus. The one thing that I would say is that I do prefer not to be overwhelmed with sugar (or salt) no matter what I’m eating, and I would have liked to taste less sugar and more actual flavors both in the frosting and the cake. But the cake was moist and I didn’t feel like the frosting overwhelmed it.

Strawberry and Red Velvet

I’m going to give you a recipe for Apple Raisin Spice Cupcakes, which i just tried and loved. I tweaked a recipe that I found….somewhere (i can’t remember, honestly) and came out with this. I like a less sweet cupcake so that I don’t feel like my teeth are going to fall out while eating it.

Apple Raisin Spice Cupcakes — yields about 24 medium sized cupcakes.

1 stick butter or margarine, melted and cooled

1 1/2 c. white sugar

3 eggs, beaten

2 tsp. vanilla

3 c. flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg

2 1/2 c. granny smith apples, peeled and chopped

1 c. raisins

1) Preheat the oven to 325 F.

2) Mix sugar, eggs, butter and vanilla on low speed until incorporated. Make sure the butter is cool so it doesn’t scramble your eggs 🙂

3) Add the baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and flour and mix until incorporated. Scrape the bottom of the bowl to make sure all the flour is mixed in.

4) Add the apples and raisins and gently mix only until they are covered in batter. You don’t want to break these up in to little pieces!

5) Stick these puppies in liners/muffin pan. Bake for approximately 20 minutes. My oven sucks, so it’s entirely possible yours could bake faster or slower.

6) Turn out onto racks and let cool. Then frost with…..

One Step Cream Cheese Frosting

2 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, softened

1/2 cup butter, softened

2 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1) In a medium bowl, cream together the cream cheese and butter until creamy. Mix in the vanilla, then gradually stir in the confectioners’ sugar. Store in the refrigerator after use

2 Responses to “Baked and Wired”

  1. bike spokes Says:

    I love these cupcakes. I just ate one and I think they make a good breakfast snack. But I do think they would be better with homemade frosting because the canned one is too sweet. Good job RM! 🙂

  2. bike spokes Says:

    I love these cupcakes. I just ate one and I think they make a good breakfast snack. But I do think they would be better with homemade frosting because the canned one is too sweet. Good job RM! 🙂

Leave a Reply

