Baby, it’s cold outside

Now look…I was hesitant to even venture into the food blogging world. Everyone out there has such amazing recipes and photographs (someday I’ll upgrade to a nice camera, for now you’ll have to look at food that only my lovely little PowerShot can capture) and I’m nervous that maybe my recipes won’t stack up.

Oh whatever. That isn’t true. The truth is that I’m excited to do this. I’m such a wannabe chef, I love Food Network and I just spent 3 hours in William Sonoma today drooling over immersion blenders. I might not have gone to culinary school, but I can cook. 🙂

It’s cold and rainy up in Northern Virginia this evening. Perfect night for sweats, my college sweatshirt, and a batch of “what-i-had-in-the-pantry chili.” Woohoo. I’ll give you the recipe that I put together tonight because, if I do say so, this came out GREAT. A side note: I have never and will never like meat in my chili. Don’t judge me. This is a great recipe and super healthy. I eat a bowl and pretend like I just did 100 sit ups. That’s how healthy it is.

Veggie Chili

2 carrots, peeled and sliced

2 stalks celery, sliced

1/2 large onion, chopped

2 large cans of chopped tomatoes, with juice

1 can butter beans

1 can black beans

1 can kidney beans

2 handfuls of TVP*

3 cloves garlic, chopped

2 tbsp. chili powder

seasoned salt and pepper to taste

*TVP is Textured Vegetable Protein. You can find it anywhere these days, but you might have more luck at places like Whole Foods. I get mine at a bulk food store where my parents live, in the midst of Mennonites, who sell EVERYTHING in bulk. If you can’t find it, just throw in some tofu (or meat, if you actually want to do those 100 sit ups I mentioned).

I’m not even going to do numbered steps on this one. Throw everything in a big soup pot. Cook it covered on medium for a while. Taste it. Does it taste good? Need salt? More chili powder? Add it. 🙂 I think the main thing is to let this cook until the texture looks about right. I would cook it for a few hours on low and then cook it uncovered on medium/high to get rid of any excess liquid. If you like the consistency, leave it alone!

Top this baby with some shredded cheddar. YUM.
2 Responses to “Baby, it’s cold outside”

  1. Heather Says:

    Hello! it’s Heather. I stopped bye 🙂 I enjoyed the cupcake adventure. More to come soon, I hope! Let’s cook some Monday soon, and maybe that meal will be the premiere recipe on my blog!

  2. Heather Says:

    Hello! it’s Heather. I stopped bye 🙂 I enjoyed the cupcake adventure. More to come soon, I hope! Let’s cook some Monday soon, and maybe that meal will be the premiere recipe on my blog!

Leave a Reply

